Trinamool’s New Plan As Seat-Sharing Talks With Congress Hit Roadblock


Mamata Banerjee is spearheading the Trinamool marketing campaign in Bengal


Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee has informed district leaders of the Trinamool Congress to be ready to subject candidates in all of the three Lok Sabha seats in Murshidabad district, sources stated.

Ms Banerjee’s instruction to her get together was seen as posturing to its INDIA bloc associate Congress, headed by Mallikarjun Kharge.

The Congress is but to reply on seat-sharing talks with the Trinamool for Murshidabad, which has three Lok Sabha seats, two of them held by Ms Banerjee’s get together and one by the Congress.

Each Ms Banerjee and her nephew Abhishek Banerjee had been current at at present’s assembly.

Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury is the MP from Berhampore underneath Murshidabad Lok Sabha constituency. He’s fiercely against any seat-sharing talks with Ms Banerjee’s get together.

The opposite two Lok Sabha seats in Murshidabad constituency – Jangipur and Murshidabad – are underneath the Trinamool Congress.

The Trinamool Congress and the Congress’s seat-sharing talks haven’t made any progress to date. The Congress has additionally ignored the Trinamool’s deadline to shut a seat-sharing deal in Bengal.

The CPI(M)-led Left Entrance in Bengal can be a part of the Opposition INDIA bloc. The CPI(M) and the Congress seems to have aligned towards the Trinamool and the BJP in Bengal.

The Trinamool final week determined to abstain from an INDIA bloc digital assembly, and emphasised the need for the Congress to recognise its limitations in Bengal and permit the ruling get together to spearhead the state’s political battle.

The Trinamool had beforehand allied with the Congress within the 2001 meeting election, the 2009 Lok Sabha election, and the 2011 meeting polls, resulting in the ousting of the CPI(M)-led Left Entrance authorities of 34 years.

Within the 2019 election, the Trinamool gained 22 seats, Congress gained two, and the BJP gained 18 seats within the state.