J Mascis Pronounces New Album ‘What Do We Do Now’, Shares New Single

J Mascis has introduced a brand new solo album referred to as What Do We Do Now. It’s set to land on February 2 by way of Sub Pop. Lead single ‘Can’t Consider We’re Right here’ arrives right this moment alongside a video edited by Adam Bale at Ballad Photos. Test it out under.

What Do We Do Now was recorded at Mascis’ Bisquiteen studio in Western Massachusetts. The Dinosaur Jr. member recruited Ken Maiuri (of the B-52’s) to play keys and Matthew “Doc” Dunn to carry out metal guitar on the report, which follows 2018’s Elastic Days.

“Once I’m writing for the band, I’m at all times making an attempt to consider doing issues Lou and Murph would match into,” Mascis stated in a press release. “For myself, I’m pondering extra about what I can do with simply an acoustic guitar, even for the leads. In fact, this time, I added full drums and electrical leads, though the rhythm components are nonetheless all acoustic. Often, I attempt to do the solo stuff extra just so I can play it on my own, however I actually needed so as to add the drums. As soon as that began, every little thing else simply fell into place. So it ended up sounding much more like a band report. I dunno why I did that precisely, nevertheless it’s simply what occurred.”

Of collaborating with Maiuri, he added: “Ken is nice, and he performs all of the keys. I attempted taking part in some keyboards on the primary Fog album, however I’m actually solely comfy taking part in the white notes, so it’s form of limiting. [laughs] These days, I might simply flip the pitch on a mini Mellotron to play completely different sounds, however black keys simply appear laborious. For no matter cause, I similar to banging on the white ones. Looks as if it’s more durable to determine stretch your fingers across the different ones.”

What Do We Do Now Cowl Art work:

What Do We Do Now Tracklist:

1. Can’t Consider We’re Right here
2. What Do We Do Now
3. Proper Behind You
4. You Don’t Perceive Me
5. I Can’t Discover You
6. Previous Buddies
7. It’s True
8. Set Me Down
9. Hangin Out
10. Finish is Gettin Shaky

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *